Understanding Exam Objective : Java EE 6 Web Component Developer Certification – Implementing MVC Design

The OCE Java EE 6 Web Component Developer exam tests candidates’ skills to implement MVC design using Java Servlet and JSP technologies.

Sub topics of OCEJWCD 6 MVC Design Chapters

  1. Code a controller using a servlet
  2. Code a view using a JSP
  3. Forward control from a servlet to a JSP
  4. Understand fundamentals of EL
  5. Implement a simple MVC system

Model view controller (MVC) is a design pattern for software programming. MVC is separated into three layers: model, view, and controller.

Model view controller

Model: Data representation and it contains business logic. For example, Account class represents model object which holds account data and account related business methods.

View: Page/UI representation of the state of the model and handle the communication between view and model. For example, table view of account’s history and list view of account’s history.

Controller: It handles communication between one or more of an application’s view components and one or more of its model components. For example, when user clicks “search” button on account’s page the controller will populate account’s history and generate model and send it to table/list view.

How to implement MVC design Java EE 6 Web Components?

  • The model components can be designed by Java Beans.
  • The view components can be implemented as JSPs.
  • The controller component will be implemented as Java Servlet.

You can find more discussion and examples in Java EE 6 Web Component Developer Certification Training Lab’s basic and advanced sessions.

Leave a Reply